Skip to content

Do journalists worry about accuracy?

April 14, 2010

Police ‘shot epileptic with Tazer for biting paramedics during fit’

A headline from the Daily Telegraph.

You can read the story if you like by clicking the link, but can someone tell me what a “Tazer” is and how I get one?

Some officers in my force have Taser which may or may not be similar.

It’s like the muppets in the media who insist on referring to CS as a “gas”.

To the semi-skilled Daily Telegraph reporter who is responsible for this article – If you’re going to print a story, at least try and get the content right. I managed it with this entry and I don’t even get paid to do it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dr Melvin T Gray permalink
    April 14, 2010 20:45

    The red herring would be less offensive in a parallel universe where police blogs enjoyed a respectful association with decent English grammar and spelling.

  2. April 14, 2010 23:24

    Dr Gray

    Welcome!

    I visited your blog – for those who are interested it is http://concern4justice.blogspot.com – to see if I could catch you out.

    Unfortunately (or should I say fortunately? I think perhaps I should?) there is only one entry, dated 28th September 2007, to work on.

    One entry doesn’t really indicate that you have a great deal of conviction in your aims. Putting that to one side though, your entry was a little bit too wordy and pretentious for my liking, but no more than I would expect from someone who makes a habit of popping up on everyone else’s blog and making snide comments, before moving on.

    Feel free to drop in every now and again – it’s nice to hear from you.

  3. Dr Melvin T Gray permalink
    April 15, 2010 07:42

    Dear PC Still,

    I relish nostalgia when one’s memory is coaxed back to happy student days when we believed policemen with defective reasoning were unusual.

    However we remain hopeful that most qualified detectives resist mirroring your pronouncement as a result of inability to access the communications and database of any current organisation.

    Allow me to take a rain check on your invitation whilst thanking you for your welcome and provision of a personal categorisation alongside your peers.

  4. April 15, 2010 09:39

    I too relish nostalgia – it’s been a few years since I was a PC, but I suppose that technically, despite having achieved the rank of sergeant, I still hold the office of constable.

    There is no qualification required to class oneself as a ‘detective’ although most forces send their suited ones on a course with lots of letters in the name. You can Google it if you want to.

    My Googling ability is sufficient for my needs. If I wanted to read the pompous ramblings of former students, I’m sure I could locate them very quickly. In fact – the news is full of it at the moment. Roll on May 7th!

  5. Jumblerant permalink
    May 10, 2010 18:22

    I had the dubious honour of working with a young policewoman who insisted that she was so excited to be on the first team to learn all about the new ‘tizer’.

    I giggled when I thought of the fizzy red soft drink being used to defeat attackers!

    Muppeticity!!

Leave a Reply

