Skip to content

Call to account

December 10, 2007
tags:

 Olympics costs ‘could rise again’

A government report is warning there is a 20% chance the cost of staging the 2012 Olympic Games in London could rise again, the BBC has learned.

It comes after ministers announced a budget for the event of £9.3bn in March – a figure four times higher than that foreseen in the original Olympics bid.

They are now set to publish their most detailed breakdown of the costs.

BBC sports editor Mihir Bose says ministers are confident the budget is “robust”, despite persistent criticism.

He says this confidence is likely to be exuded by Olympics minister Tessa Jowell when she makes a written statement on details of the budget to the House of Commons later.

In November, the House of Commons public accounts committee attacked ministers over planning for the event, saying foreseeable costs had been “grossly underestimated”.

I didn’t vote for it.

I don’t know anyone who voted for it.

Yet I’m going to end up paying for it.

How can this hypocritical government moan and whinge about public sector pay rises on the one hand, then approve increases in the Olympic budget on such a massive scale?

The Home Office may have saved £30million by reneging on an established pay deal, but that is a drop in the ocean compared to the vast sums being pumped into yet another white elephant in London.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. inspectorgadget permalink
    December 12, 2007 20:14

    Ah yes…. Tessa Jowell. The woman who didn’t know (wink wink) that hubby had several dodgy mortgages on the house.

  2. Keith Harris permalink
    December 14, 2007 22:11

    ‘I didn’t vote for it.’

    I didn’t vote to have a police force

    ‘I don’t know anyone who voted for it.’

    I don’t know anyone who did vote to have a police force

    ‘Yet I’m going to end up paying for it.’

    I do pay for the police force, their fast cars, their weapons, their extended sick leave, their dough nuts, their brutality, their murder of innocent Brazilians.

    Looking at it from the publics point of view the Olympics are pretty cheap and harmless.

  3. December 15, 2007 00:52

    Hey Metcounty Old Fruit – Good News!

    They found Paddick’s wallet and you’ll be pleased to know that it still had your your picture in it

  4. December 15, 2007 16:51

    Mr Harris

    I might have been able to take your comments a little more seriously if it wasn’t for the fact that I can’t get the image of a man with his arm up the arse of a little green duck out of my head.

    You should ask for a refund – our cars are not very fast; our weapons consist of an air freshener and a metal stick; Police Officers have the lowest level of sickness amongst the entire public sector; the police canteens have all closed, so the supply of doughnuts has dwindled; I haven’t gratuitously beaten anyone up since I was 12 and at the last count, only one Brazilian has been killed by police in the last 150 years!

  5. Quetelet permalink
    December 21, 2007 16:32

    Stan Still,
    You start off with an amusing retort, which almost makes me think that there might be some semblance of humanity beneath that black nazi uniform, then you go on with the sort of knowitall arrogance commonplace amongst all coppers, showing your true colours.

    As for De Menezes, that’s one Brazilian too many – DON’T BE SO BLOODY SMUG!

  6. December 21, 2007 16:51

    Quetelet – it’s my blog, so I’m allowed to be smug if I want to. No-one is forcing you to read it, are they?

    I agree that the death of de Menezes was one too many, but it is only one, whereas Mr Harris tried to imply (by use of the plural) that more than one Brazilian had been killed by police in this country. This is factually inaccurate.

    It’s nice how you assume and feel justified in calling me a “Nazi”, when you have never met me and have no knowledge of my ethnic background. Of course, were we in Nazi Germany, you wouldn’t be able to get away with such comments against the police. Your IP address would be traced and you would be taken away in the night, never to be seen again. Rest assured that this doesn’t happen in Britain. By the time I managed to get authority to put a trace on you and signed all the forms, you would probably have moved house three times.

    I don’t know it all, but I’m prepared to learn. Arrogant? Whatever!

    It was nice of you to drop by and add some comments – perhaps next time you would like to add another couple of stereotypes to your accusations? I haven’t been called a Fascist for some time – I miss it.

Leave a Reply

