Skip to content

Career break

July 18, 2007
I’ve come to a decision.

I know this isn’t the sort of thing that prospective Inspectors are supposed to do, but eventually the bullet has to be bitten.

I’ve decided to lay this blog to rest – for a while anyway.

Before you ask, I haven’t been threatened, persuaded or advised by any third party. I’ve made this decision without consultation or coercion, based on purely personal reasons. Fear of retribution is not even a factor. As far as I am aware, only one person in my force knows my true identity and I can trust that person to keep my online persona under wraps.

The main reason is that I don’t feel that the blog is achieving much. I made a conscious decision at the start of the blog of making sure I couldn’t be identified, so I don’t write about cases I’ve dealt with or people I’ve worked with. Not even in general terms. I’ve mainly commented on affairs in the public domain or things that affect us all, police and public alike.

Fellow bloggers, who are too numerous to mention but are probably on the sidebar, have developed their style and are making points in a much better way than I ever could. I will continue to comment on their contributions and bask in their reflected glory. “Typical of a supervisor” as some disgruntled PCs would say.

I feel that I can have more input and influence in the Police Oracle forum, where I hold the exalted position of Moderator. If you want to read my thoughts and opinions, then that is where you will find them.

Thanks to all those who have read my words over the past couple of years and more thanks to those who have been bothered to respond. This also extends to those anonymous loons who left bizarre and abusive comments. They made me laugh so much I forgot to press the ‘delete’ button on a number of occasions.

The blog will stay online, but I won’t be posting here in the foreseeable future, so if you are a first time visitor, I wouldn’t bother subscribing if I were you.

Be careful out there!
13 Comments leave one →
  1. totallyun-pc permalink
    July 18, 2007 11:23

    Laters dude…

  2. Anonymous permalink
    July 18, 2007 14:35

    Good bye mate, I really enjoyed reading the blog. Its a a shame to see you go.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 19, 2007 03:24

    good get off the fucking net you Nazi pig scum.

  4. Litew8 permalink
    July 19, 2007 15:22

    Sorry to see you stop blogging, enjoyed reading it. Thank you for your efforts, probably catch you on PoliceOracle sometime or another.

    Litew8.

  5. Annette permalink
    July 20, 2007 12:26

    Oh, you can’t be serious!
    I love your blogs.
    Will miss you terribly, however if thats your decision.
    What a shame.
    Anyway, thanks for all you have written, enjoyed it all.
    Take care. Best of luck.
    xxx

  6. thinblueline permalink
    July 23, 2007 16:57

    thats it… no send off ?
    No swift pint down the dog and bone ?

    bloody g’vonrs allways slipping off with out buying a round.

  7. uphilldowndale permalink
    August 1, 2007 16:45

    There I go missing the boat again.

  8. The thinker permalink
    August 8, 2007 15:26

    You and me both – uphillanddowndale. But that’s life.

  9. Dinoplod permalink
    August 18, 2007 16:18

    You are too hard on yourself regarding style. Identity is a problem but like you I’m on other forums unlike you under a different name.
    Good luck with being a Guv……
    Regards
    Dino

  10. Anonymous permalink
    August 21, 2007 13:48

    Unrelated but interesting…

    It’s a story about a revamped approach to fighting crime, where the police gathered in the street and allowed residents to come to them to voice their fears.
    A good return to bobby on the beat? Or a naff idea which doesn’t engage the whole community? Love to see your opinions on it, on this blog.

    http://www.shieldsgazette.com/news?articleid=3127649

  11. Anonymous permalink
    September 21, 2007 12:47

    Hope you go with PC fletcher

  12. metcountymounty permalink
    September 26, 2007 22:25

    You’re shit and you know you are

  13. Phil Bowles permalink
    September 28, 2007 12:15

    Dear Blogger,

    I am an ex Met officer, now in my 3rd year of a full-time law degree. I have a research project underway and I really need the views of serving officers on one specific question (regarding s139 CJA 1988). I have created a small and very basic website which poses the question and allows officers to vote yes/no to the answer.

    The site is http://anorhack.com (no’www’ – that’s important)

    I’d be hugely grateful if you could pop a link to it on yr blog. For statistical purposes, the more replies I get, the better!

    Thanks

    Phil Bowles

Leave a Reply

