Skip to content

New Year’s Eve patrol

December 31, 2006
I don’t know about where you are, but it looks like PC Rain will be on patrol for most of the evening. In fact, where I live, PC Rain is doing a very persistent job of keeping people off the streets.

Hopefully, this patrol will be maintained way past midnight, thereby deterring people from hanging around in drunken gangs and kicking seven shades of Hogmanay out of each other!

I will be working tonight, as will many of my colleagues. I trust that those of you who are not working will respect our right to refuse a celebratory drink or kiss on the High Street. Bear in mind that if you are arrested, it won’t be before the officer concerned has given you any number of chances to go home – there are only so many cells and we don’t want them all full for the early shift, who will of course be earning double time and therefore can’t possibly be expected to work for it. If you do get locked up, it is YOUR fault that the night was ruined – not ours.

Alas, another small pleasure will now be gone for another year. The satisfaction of telling someone that they are being kept in for court until after Christmas/New Year is one of the few remaining perks of the job and I look forward to wiping the smirks off the faces of a few more recidivists with that one next year.

Have a good one – Don’t drink and drive – Keep your hands to yourselves and see you all in 2007.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. PC South West permalink
    December 31, 2006 16:43

    I bet they will be wearing their bloody beer coats though. I too will be working so hope that PC Rain and PC Wind stay out until the end of the shift at 4am.

  2. busybizzie permalink
    December 31, 2006 16:50

    Stay wet. Happy new year.

  3. Stan Still permalink
    December 31, 2006 16:52

    Unless there is a leak in the roof of the custody block, there is very little danger of me getting wet or cold tonight!

  4. totallyun-pc permalink
    December 31, 2006 18:32

    Dance dance), I don’t do custody anymore, (Dance dance), I don’t do custody anymore, Yeeeeeeeehaaaaa!

    Oh and did I mention i was off tonight? (moonwalk) and that i don’t do custody anymore anyway? did I? (twirl!) did I? Ha Ha!

    And for ALL going out there tonight, be careful and watch each others backs….as always.
    Stay safe and well. TUPC

  5. Annette permalink
    January 1, 2007 13:14

    totallyun-pc:

    Hvae you put this message on everyones blog!?!

    You do make me laugh.

  6. Annette permalink
    January 1, 2007 14:25

    You’re nicked:

    I would take some rennies for that wind if I was you.

Leave a Reply

