Skip to content

Change of venue

December 7, 2006

A request to all you other bloggers out there.

I’m considering whether to move this site from Blogger to WordPress. I’ve been toying with the idea for a while and have an account set up and everything.

The only small fly in the ointment at the moment is that Blogger in Beta won’t let me export my posts to another account. This leaves me with a problem.

Do I start again and leave the two sites running simultaneously? Or do I do the laborious job of copying and pasting every single post across to WordPress?

Any views?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. ExtraSpecialCopper permalink
    December 7, 2006 13:07

    May sound daft but what are the benefits of wordpress?

  2. Stan Still permalink
    December 7, 2006 13:21

    It seems easier to create and edit posts and the templates are easier to manipulate.

    The main reason is for the benefit of my readers. A lot of people use RSS readers to keep up with blogs. I certainly do. Although it is straightforward enough to syndicate the blog, comments are a different matter. To syndicate to comments, a reader has to subscribe to every single comment, rather than a bulk comment feed.

    WordPress allows a reader to download all comments from one feed, so making it easier to follow.

    That’s just one reason

  3. busybizzie permalink
    December 7, 2006 13:29

    Uh?!

  4. James permalink
    December 7, 2006 15:53

    I don’t understand the intricacies of RSS anyway; put me down as ‘neutral’.

  5. ExtraSpecialCopper permalink
    December 7, 2006 16:15

    you tried blogger beta? (sorry if you have) its good to edit posts etc as its all there in one table and no need to republish blog everytime

  6. busybizzie permalink
    December 7, 2006 18:08

    I was just gonna stick you on my sidebar then I realised I’d best wait till you’ve moved or not.

  7. Annette permalink
    December 7, 2006 19:04

    wordpress?
    what is that?
    I love your blogging,look at it everyday.
    could I do that if you changed?

  8. Stan Still permalink
    December 7, 2006 20:40

    Folks – there will be no change at present. Until I can find an easy way to move all my posts across, I’ll stay as I am.

    I am using Blogger in Beta and if I do eventually move to WordPress, I will put in a referral link, so no need to worry Annette!

  9. PC South West permalink
    December 9, 2006 18:20

    I have been considering the same but was also unsure.
    You could just put a link to this blog if people want to see previous posts. From what I have seen of wordpress it looks good.

    Not so sure about your jokes at the top of your postings, reminds me of a colleague who tells the worst jokes.

  10. Coxsoft Art permalink
    December 26, 2006 23:53

    I recently came across a post on Blogger Forum that was moaning about WordPress! I’d stick where you are or transfer to new Blogger. It takes a while to build a web presence, and you don’t want to lose all your past posts. And people have linked to you, don’t forget.

Leave a Reply

