Skip to content

A prediction

April 7, 2006


A new speed camera has been installed near where I live.
I have no idea why, as I thought that the Government had put a freeze on new installations, plus the fact that I can’t ever remember there being any sort of collision at the location.
This is where I make my prediction.
This camera site will become an accident blackspot within months.
Why? I hear you ask.
The camera has been installed near to a hump-back bridge. As drivers come over the bridge, they will suddenly see this big yellow box on a stick. Human nature being what it is will cause these drivers to hit the brakes.
Anyone who know anything about physics will know that as a car goes over a hill, the forces of gravity will cause the weight of the car to shift. Add the sudden braking force to an unbalanced car will increase the chances of a skid. Chuck in a bit of rain and there is the potential for a head-on collision. Oh – I forgot to mention that the road bends slightly after the bridge as well.
I’ll keep you informed, but remember, you heard it here first.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. gonorr permalink
    April 8, 2006 17:37

    Please tell me its nowhere near I live ;-p

    Sounds about right though.

  2. MuppetLord permalink
    April 9, 2006 10:51

    Isn’t it amazing, no accidents until after they install a camera. When will they realise that they need Traffic Police and not cameras?

  3. M2KB permalink
    April 9, 2006 22:43

    I often drive past speed cameras waving my mobile phone at it. Why, you ask? Not that the bloody thing can see me, but it just riles me that, as everyone else says, the camera is only good for one thing.. and it is NOT always excess speed that causes accidents. Speed cameras don’t catch drunk, drugged or otherwise distracted drivers. Distractions can include mobile phones, cd changing, or in one rather amusing case I read about recently, receiving female oral services.

    Common sense people. Less cameras, more cops.

  4. Bystander permalink
    April 10, 2006 22:16

    Oh don’t you start!

    You can’t be anti-camera without being pro-speeding. That’s dangerous.

  5. Bill Sticker permalink
    April 13, 2006 20:38

    It’s not so much anti – camera, as anti where they are sited. Speed cameras belong within urban and suburban areas close to schools etc. Only if more of them are sited in those areas as opposed to in ‘National limit’ areas will their image of ‘revenue raiser’ diminish.

    Regards

    Bill

  6. Sharon J permalink
    April 22, 2006 16:52

    I don’t have a problem with speed cameras as long as they’re positioned sensibly, something this one obviously isn’t.

    Generally I’d say that if you don’t want to get caught, don’t speed. It isn’t always that cut and dried, though. Our local force have a habit of setting up their mobile unit just after a spot where the speed limit changes for 40 to 30 and is at the bottom of a hill. Crafty, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

