Skip to content

Something positive!

March 27, 2006
It hasn’t escaped my attention that a lot of posts on this blog (and other police blogs) seem to focus on the stupid and bureaucratic policies that are foisted upon us. These policies do nothing to improve front-line policing and lead to lack of morale.
At long last, I am pleased to report that several forces are introducing a new policy that I wholeheartedly support and welcome. I hope that my colleagues will feel the same way and give this scheme the widest possible publicity.
You all think I’m being sarcastic – don’t you?
Wrong!
Child Rescue Alert is a scheme introduced by a number of UK forces to increase the chances of locating lost and abducted children as quickly as possible. I first heard about it on the BBC web site (full story here) and I think it is brilliantly simple. No extra paperwork and a load of extra pairs of eyes looking out for the child and the suspect.
If you have a blog, can I ask you to put a link to this organisation on your sidebar? As far as I can see, there will be a need for people to register to receive SMS alerts when an incident happens, so the more publicity, the better.
On a slightly different issue, you’ll also see a few more links to other web sites for your viewing pleasure.
Thank you
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    March 29, 2006 11:51

    > If you have a blog, can I ask you to put a link to this organisation on your sidebar?

    One done here.

  2. Stan Still permalink
    March 29, 2006 16:16

    Thank you Donna

Leave a Reply

